Ireland Active is a not-for-profit trade body, accountable to its members and governed by a board of directors who are representative of the different areas of our sector stakeholder groups.

Board directors are nominated and elected by Ireland Active members and serve a three year term, subject to a maximum of 2 terms with a one year break, with 12 years the maximum term allowed to be served. Our constitution provides for gender balance and independent directors. The Chairperson, Secretary, Company Secretary and Treasurer are appointed by the board members.

The executive staff team are responsible for the day-to-day running of Ireland Active, which is led by the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

Ireland Active Board of Directors

Joe Cosgrove (Chairperson) MD, Kingfisher Club Group – Public Sector

Clodagh Kilmurray (Secretary) CEO, Swan Leisure – Public Sector

Tina Dowling (Treasurer) CEO, The Watershed, Kilkenny – Public Sector

Liam Cunningham GM, Athlone Regional Sports Centre – Public Sector

Lorna Brady CEO, SPORTSCO – Private Sector

Brian King General Manager, University of Limerick Sport – Public Sector

Siobhan Tighe MD, Coral Leisure Group – Public Sector

John Windle General Manager – UPMC Sports Medicine and UPMC Institute for Health

Scott Walker (Director of Strategy and Technology, IRFU) Independent Director- IT, Governance and Strategy

Brendan Loughnane (Retail Area Manager, Ireland) – Independent Director – Communications and Public Affairs

Michael Lennon – Hotel Sector Rep – Irish Hotels Federation

We are signed up to the Voluntary Code of Good Governance for the voluntary sector and are on the journey to achieving full compliance. For our Audited Accounts and AGM report please find below;

Our Constitution – Adopted AGM 2017